July Wrap Up

Hey guys!

So we’ve decided we’re going to do monthly wrap-up posts seeing as we’re not doing tbr posts anymore. We pretty much read the same books this month in preparation for the book signings we went to. This is just a post to tell you what we’ve read in July and also the signings we went to this month, which were great!

Caroline-

In July I managed to read the books for these book signings, but also got more books read for Gayle Forman’s as I hadn’t read If I stay or Where she went before which are AMAZING!!

Jen –

In July I read a total of 4 books which is more than I thought I’d get done so I’m delighted with myself because they were all really good!

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Carrie –

I was so excited to read this book because I had heard so many great things and I was not disappointed!

Zélie remembers when the soil of Orissa hummed with magic. Everything changed the night magic disappeared. Now Zélie is sent on this quest to help restore magic before it is lost forever.

I loved the storyline of this book, honestly anything to do with magic and I’m hooked! It was such a good book, I loved the characters as well, and what happened at the end I’m hoping is cleared up in the next book!

Jen –

First things first…Tomi Adeyemi is a genius!!!

This book was honestly one of the best fantasy books I had read in a while! It was so action packed right from the very start, things were hectic straight away but it wasn’t rushed! The pacing was so well done. The magic system and characters are so well thought out, so is the plot! The representation this book involves is amazing! A strong black female character as the protagonist of a popular YA novel is such a special, heartwarming thing to see! I can’t wait for the next book 🙂

The Belles by Dhonielle Clayton

Carrie –

Camille Beauregard is a Belle. Belles control beauty and in Orleans, where people are born gray, a Belles is the only one that can help them be beautiful. beauty is everything.

I did find this book slow at the start, but then you discover the ugly truth in what is supposed to be this beautiful world that the Belles can create, and the story became so intriguing.

I also loved Remy in this book, so I can’t wait to find out what will happen in the next one.

Jen –

I really enjoyed this book! It was so brilliant and a fun read!

The story was so fun and pretty and normal enough for the most part but the twists and plot changes that take place were so crazy. They got me hooked and so bet into the story and what was going to happen next! It felt like a Disney princess story gone dark!

Dhonielle Clayton’s writing is so effortlessly beautiful , that woman has a way of teaching you something through her words!

The Weight Of A Thousand Feathers by Brian Conaghan

Carrie –

Bobby is a young carer who cares for his mam that suffers from MS. It’s a heartbreaking story of Bobby having to deal with caring for his mam, his little brother and trying to figure out his own life and being faced with an impossible choice.

This book was a beautifully written story, full of heartbreak and above all love. I also loved how the author included the poems that the main character wrote, it made this book even more heartbreaking and incredible.

Jen –

As sad as it was, this book was just what I needed after reading two fantasy novels!

I adored the character of Bobby in this story, something about him just made me want to be his friend! Brian has a real talent for writing such raw/real characters.

The family dynamic was lovely to see as they were very close but also the situation of the mother being sick is heartbreaking to read and to see the characters go through that!

I loved that Bobby’s sexuality wasn’t the main factor of this book, it was expressed in a way that it wasn’t made a big deal! I love the way Brian just left it open, not having a label put on it.

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

Carrie –

This story is about three different characters that have each lost their way, but by finding each other might be able to find it again.

“I have lost my way”. This sentence had me hooked from the beginning as I relate to it so much. I could feel each of these characters emotions and fears, and wanted them to just find their way and be happy.

I am so happy with how this book ended. We always get to where we are meant to be and who we are meant to be with even if it takes awhile. Even if we lose ourselves along the way.

“I have lost my way” but all these characters find it again.

Jen –

This was such a fun read!

Seeing these 3 characters coming together because of an accident that happens while all of them are in the same place is what kicks off this book which I thought was really cool! Unfortunate circumstances brings them together which I thought was really beautiful! The things they get up to, the realizations they make and the fears/struggles they overcome because of eachother was my favourite part of this book!

Also the representation in this book was really great to see!

Book signings

We were so excited to go to these book signings as we had loved all the books so much and these authors are honestly amazing! The book signings were so fun and it was great to see all of our bookish friends as well!

Author: ATaleOfTwoBlogs

We are two bestfriends from Ireland, Caroline and Jennifer - both 21. Both of us are avid book readers and have been for the longest time. We finally decided to make a blog together where we will share all things bookish including reviews, tags, hauls, book event shenanigans and hopefully in the future some author interviews. To whoever is reading this, we hope you enjoy our blog posts and thank you for being here 📚📚

Leave a comment