The Cliché Book Tag

Hey guys I know it’s been awhile again since we done a post, just a lot of things going on in our lives at the moment! We were tagged by Ross over at @theroyalbookshelf to do this book tag so hope you guys enjoy!

1. ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS:

A book that wasn’t or couldn’t be better than the movie

Caroline-

For this I’m going to have to go with Me Before You. I really liked the book but when I actually saw the movie on the big screen and with the actors they had chosen for the characters, I completely fell in love with it. That movie will always make me cry but it has a special place in my heart.

Jennifer-

I’m gonna have to go with Catching Fire for this one, the book was my fave of the 3 but the movie adaptation just blew me away!!

2. THE GRASS IS ALWAYS GREENER ON THE OTHER SIDE:

A rags to riches or riches to rags story

Caroline-

I’m going to go with A Little Princess for this, one of my favourite books that I read when I was younger.

Jennifer-

The first one that came to mind is Stardust by Neil Gaiman!

3. THE APPLE DOES NOT FALL FAR FROM THE TREE:

A parent/child relationship that you love

Caroline-

I honestly can’t think of a relationship like this from a book I’ve read 😅

Jennifer-

I adore the relationship between Simon and his parents in Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda, they’re so funny and caring!!

4. YOU CAN’T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER:

A good book that needs a better cover

Caroline-

I’m going to have to say the very first cover of The Hunger Games that I got. I didn’t like the cover at all even though it’s such a great book. I’m glad they’ve more editions of it now.

Jennifer-

I’m not a fan of people’s faces on books so I would have to say If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Forman (these are two of my favourite books) I’m just not a fan of the covers

5. YOU CAN’T PLEASE EVERYONE:

A book you hate that everyone loves

Caroline-

I think I’ll have to say Turtles All The Way Down for this one. I was so excited for this new book but it was a bit of a disappointment for me.

Jennifer-

Looking for Alaska, I really didn’t like this book at all but know a few people have really enjoyed it.

6. WHAT DOESN’T KILL YOU MAKES YOU STRONGER:

What’s a book that made you a better person for reading it

Caroline-

I think I’ll go with The Book Thief. I didn’t think I would like the book as it’s not usually what I’d read, but it had such an amazing story to it and amazing characters. It’s one of the best books I’ve read.

Jennifer-

The Manifesto on How to be Interesting by Holly Bourne. This book dealt with certain things I can relate to and it helped me deal with those issues.

7. IGNORANCE IS BLISS:

A book that is bad but you just don’t want to admit it

Caroline-

This is a hard one because I hate saying a book is bad, but I’m going to say Paper Towns. I was really excited to read this as I had loved John Green’s other books, but it just disappointed me.

Jennifer-

I couldn’t think of any books that I wouldn’t admit that I didn’t like so I’ll go with a book that is probably my least favourite books I’ve ever read… The Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen

8. THERE IS NO TIME LIKE THE PRESENT:

What is your favourite contemporary book?

Caroline-

I’m going to pick Anna And The French Kiss. It’s such a feel good book and it always makes me happy when I read it instead of crying haha.

Jennifer-

I feel like so many contemporaries are buzzing around my head because I love so many and I can’t choose so I’ll choose two for now. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas & History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera.

9. BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY:

A book you don’t want to read incase it’s bad

Caroline-

Going to go with A Court Of Frost And Starlight. I absolutely adore this series, particularly A Court of Mist and Fury, so I’m afraid to read this because I’ve heard mixed reviews of it being brilliant and a bit of a let down.

Jennifer-

To be honest I’m afraid to read the Throne of Glass series, I’ve heard so many mixed reviews so it’s putting me off a bit.

Thanks for the tag Ross, and thank you guys for reading! We’re gonna leave this as an open tag for whoever feels like doing this as a post.

Let us know if you relate to any of our cliches or have any of your own in the comments below.

Thanks again guys,

Caroline and Jennifer x

Author: ATaleOfTwoBlogs

We are two bestfriends from Ireland, Caroline and Jennifer - both 21. Both of us are avid book readers and have been for the longest time. We finally decided to make a blog together where we will share all things bookish including reviews, tags, hauls, book event shenanigans and hopefully in the future some author interviews. To whoever is reading this, we hope you enjoy our blog posts and thank you for being here 📚📚

4 thoughts on “The Cliché Book Tag”

Leave a comment