Monthly Wrap Up!

Hey guys, sorry it’s been awhile but we are finally back! We’ve missed blogging so much! In this post we will be bringing our very first monthly Wrap Up; which will consist of the books we read in the month of March 😊 Enjoy – Caroline and Jennifer x

Caroline:

This month I had my birthday and I was in Disneyland for that, so I didn’t get to read all the books I had originally planned to, but I still got a few read!

The first book I read this month was;

Flowers for Algernon-

I didn’t know if this was the type of book that I would like, but I loved it so much! At the start I was so happy that these great things were going to happen for the main character and he was finally going to be who he wanted to be. Then as the story progressed, we see things falling apart and everything changes rapidly. Things go terribly wrong and it’s completely heartbreaking. I’m still thinking about this book and I will definitely re read it! This is a book that will stay with me for the rest of my life.

My second read this month was;

The Cruel Prince-

OMG this book is AMAZING! I love love love the world of Faerie, and to see the way this story was told through a human was a unique way of bringing the story to life! I loved all the different characters and the way they were so obsessed with getting what they wanted no matter what they had to do, it was very intriguing. I’ve a further review in our next blog post!

The third book for me this month was;

Shatter me-

This was a re read for me as I am getting back into this incredible series in preparation for Restore Me! There’s so many things I had forgot happened, and it was so interesting to see them unfold again.

The fourth book for me this month was a short read.

Destroy Me-

Is a novella that’s part of the Shatter Me series and it’s from Warner’s POV, so of course I loved this book!!

Finally the book I’m currently reading is Unravel Me-

This is the second book in the Shatter Me series. I’m falling in love with it all over again!

Jennifer:

Well I had planned to read 5 books but unfortunately I only got 2 and a half books read (not my best reading month). There’s always next month to make up for it! Anyways let’s get right into what I read in March πŸ™‚

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black was the first book I read in March. To say I enjoyed it would be a massive understatement! I absolutely adored the world and characters Holly Black created, she’s a genius I swear. The storytelling in this book was amazing, having a human as a main character in the world of Faerie was a super cool way of having the story told, seeing it through the eyes of a human as opposed to through the eyes of Faeries. It transported me to a completely different place which felt very magical. I loved the idea of the courts and what people in them would do for power. We have a full depth review and what went down at the Holly Black book signing post coming very soon!

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera is the second book I managed to get finished in March. The premise of this book was so intriguing to me that it immediately drew me in. I think it was all down to the fact that it was based over the course of a 24 hour period so it was very fast paced. He has a way of gripping you within the first few pages and makes you completely fall in love with his characters. I adored Rufus and Mateo so much, they were both really fun to read about. I honestly felt like I knew them while reading this book, I wish I did 😞 I left this book feeling sad because I wanted more but that’s down to the way it ended…damn you Adam lol. I feel like I learned something, it’s like Adam gives you a little life lesson through his writing.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

Okay I haven’t completely finished this book but I’m halfway through so I thought I’d just include it in this Wrap Up. I’ve loved what I’ve read so far so I’m sure I’m going to enjoy the second half too πŸ™‚ A good happy contemporary was just what I needed after reading Adams books. The character of Molly having experienced many cases of unrequited love (her having experienced crushes and not doing anything about it) is something I done a lot of as a teenager! Becky’s writing is super easy to read and her characters are relatable in ways I feel I have felt in the past so that’s nice to have in something I’m reading. Stories about love are certainly a favourite of mine. What can I say, I’m a hopeless romantic!

We will have our next blog for you guys very soon, which will be a more in depth review of The Cruel Prince and what happened at the book signing! We hope you guys have enjoyed this post, and we promise we won’t leave it as long for the next one! -Caroline and Jennifer

Author: ATaleOfTwoBlogs

We are two bestfriends from Ireland, Caroline and Jennifer - both 21. Both of us are avid book readers and have been for the longest time. We finally decided to make a blog together where we will share all things bookish including reviews, tags, hauls, book event shenanigans and hopefully in the future some author interviews. To whoever is reading this, we hope you enjoy our blog posts and thank you for being here πŸ“šπŸ“š

3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap Up!”

    1. Well I would defo recommend Cruel Prince it’s so good! Shatter me is one of my favourite series as well!! I’m so glad to be getting back into it before I read Restore Me! Same to you 😊 -Caroline

      Like

Leave a comment